Emmanuel Emenike Future XI championship kicks off

GTBank Masters Cup

The maiden edition of Emmanuel Emenike Future XI championship will kick off today at National Stadium Surulere, Lagos.

This was disclosed at a press conference held at King’s Celia on Thursday afternoon with representatives of the 32 participating teams, organizing committee, and the media in attendance.

The competition will have eight groups of four clubs each with each team represented by a total of 18 players with the minimum age being 16 – 22 and above.

“We have been making plans for quite some time now, and we believe now is the right time to launch out, said Emmanuel Ememnike who was present at the presser.

“Whenever I come back home and move around, I see many young Nigerian footballers with abundance of talent who do not have anyone to help them. It reminds me of how I was discovered as a grassroots player and I feel it is important to also give back to my roots by helping players get off the streets.”

Also speaking at the event was Chairman organizing committee of the tournament, Coach Uche Ugwu who appreciated the initiator of the idea (Emmanuel Emenike) and his support towards the development of grassroots football.

“It is going to be a fair playing field for all participating teams, and we look forward to seeing player being scouted for the next level of their football career, Uche said.

It was also confirmed that selected players will be camped and kept under the watch of Emmanuel Emenike’s club, 29 Stars while processes would be ongoing.

Meanwhile, Gbagada FC, Nath Boys and Collins Edwwin Sports Club among other clubs will be battling for the grand prize of NGN300,000 and an opportunity to have some of their players selected amongst the best XI.

It was also revealed that the games format would be knockout and a total of four games will be played per day in four days with each halves to last for 40 minutes.

Group Ai
Gbagada FC
Nath Boys
Dominion Hotspurs
Yobo FC

Group Aii
Kedge FC
Deprose FC
Festac Young FC
Metropolitan Stars

Group Bi
Bethel FC
SamJeson FC

Group Bii
Chykap FC
Chelsea FC
Blue Diamond
Selamson FC

Group Ci
Box 2 Box
Tamuno FC
Team 360
Stihi DC

Group Cii
Royal Trust FC
Ajali FC
Dublin FC
Amazing FC

Group Di
Divine Praise FC
Oasis FC
Collins Edwin FC
Lucky Babes

Group Dii
Emmydinho FC
Red Tigers FC