FIFA, CAF appoint observers for NFF Elections

Amaju Pinnick

Federation of International Football Association FIFA, has named Messrs Luca Piazza and Solomon Mudege as its observers for Thursday’s elections into the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) Executive Committee from 2018-2022.

Mudege is FIFA’s Senior Manager for Development Programmes (Africa) while Piazza is a senior official in the FIFA President’s office.

The Confederation of African Football, on its part also in a letter to the NFF General Secretary, Dr. Mohammed Sanusi and signed by CAF Secretary General, Amr Fahmy, designated a Member of its Executive Committee, Mr. Sita Sangare, as its Observer to the big event. Sangare, an Army Colonel, is also President of the Burkina Faso Football Federation.

All is now set for the elections as candidates such as incumbent Amaju Pinnick, former Nigeria international and one –time NFF Secretary General Taiwo Ogunjobi, former NFF President Aminu Maigari and Chinedu Okoye contesting for the Presidency have been cleared.

Incumbent Seyi Akinwunmi will vie with Sunday Dele-Ajayi for the 1st Vice President’s position, while Patrick Ifeanyi Ubah will oppose incumbent Ibrahim Musa Gusau for the slot of Chairman of Chairmen. A total of 15 other persons will battle for the remaining eight available positions on the Executive Committee.

All 44 Members of the Nigeria Football Federation Congress will cast their votes on Thursday. A number of the voters will arrive in Katsina on Tuesday.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *