Nigeria names squad for AFCON qualifier against Seychelles


Head coach of the Super Eagles, Gernot Rohr, has named his squad for the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations qualifier against Seychelles.

The team is billed to face Seychelles on Matchday 2 and host Libya in their next game.

Among invited players are Henry Onyekuru who is currently on load to Galatasary of Turkey and Ola Aina who also missed out of the recently held FIFA world Cup in Russia.

The coach has also confirmed that the team may play a friendly match against Suadi Arabia after Sychelles encounter.

After hosting Libya on October 10, the Super Eagles will play away to the Knights three days later, before flying to South Africa for the return against the Bafana Bafana on November 17. The last match of the series will see the Eagles hosting Seychelles on March 22, 2019.

In their first fixture in June 2017, Nigeria lost 0-2 to the Bafana Bafana in Uyo.

See full list below:

Goalkeepers: Uzoho, Ezenwa and Akpeyi

Defenders: Leon Balogun, William Troost-Ekong, Chidozie Awaziem, Bryan Idowu, Ola Aina, Jamiu Colllins, Semiu Ajayi, Kenneth Omeruo

Midfielders: Wilfred Ndidi, Ogenyi Onazi, Joel Obi, John Ogu, Oghenekaro Etebo, Kelechi Nwakali

Forward: Ahmed Musa, Odion Ighalo, Simy Nwankwo, Alex Iwobi, Henry Onyekuru, Samuel Kalu, Kelechi Iheanacho