France names 23 players for Russia World Cup

France names 23 players for Russia World Cup

Didier Deschamps has unveiled 23 players who will represent France in Russia as they chase a second World Cup title.

The coach also announced a list of 11 substitutes.

Didier Deschamps put an end to the suspense by unveiling his list of 23 players who will play, except injury, the next World Cup.

Notable is the inclusion of Benjamin Mendy and Lucas Hernandez on the left of the defense at the expense of Barcelona’s Lucas Digne who makes the standby list. Despite his start of the year 2018 very convincing, Mathieu Debuchy has not managed to make the squad as it is Benjamin Pavard who will be behind Djibril Sidibé.

In the middle, the major surprise where Steven Nzonzi made the cut ahead of Adrien Rabiot in the team to fly to Russia. Attacking options, Florian Thauvin and Nabil Fekir will travel, unlike a Dimitri Payet who lost everything in 24 hours: the final of the Europa League, and his place in Blues because of his injury. In the waiting room, they are eleven substitutes, from Benoît Costil to Wissam Ben Yedder having to be ready in case.

France World Cup squad below:

Alphonse Areola (PSG)
Hugo Lloris (Tottenham)
Steve Mandanda (Marseille).

Benjamin Pavard (Stuttgart)
Djibril Sidibé (Monaco)
Presnel Kimpembe (PSG)
Adil Rami (Marseille)
Raphaël Varane (Real Madrid)
Samuel Umtiti (FC Barcelone)
Lucas Hernandez (Atlético Madrid)
Benjamin Mendy (Manchester City).

N’Golo Kanté (Chelsea)
Blaise Matuidi (Juventus Turin)
Steven Nzonzi (FC Séville)
Paul Pogba (Manchester United)
Corentin Tolisso (Bayern Munich).

Ousmane Dembélé (FC Barcelone)
Nabil Fekir (Lyon)
Olivier Giroud (Chelsea)
Antoine Griezmann (Atlético Madrid)
Thomas Lemar (Monaco)
Kylian Mbappé (PSG)
Florian Thauvin (Marseille).

Below are the 11 players on standby
Wissam Ben Yedder (FC Séville)
Kingsley Coman (Bayern Munich)
Benoît Costil (Bordeaux)
Mathieu Debuchy (Saint-Etienne)
Lucas Digne (FC Barcelone)
Alexandre Lacazette (Arsenal)
Anthony Martial (Manchester United)
Adrien Rabiot (PSG)
Mamadou Sakho (Crystal Palace)
Moussa Sissoko (Tottenham)
Kurt Zouma (Stoke City).