Meet Iceland’s 23-man squad for Russia 2018 World Cup

Meet Iceland’s 23-man squad for Russia 2018 World Cup

Iceland has released a 23-man list of players to prosecute its World Cup campaign in Russia which begins next month.

The country is the smallest nation to ever qualify for the World Cup, are in Group D with Argentina, Nigeria and Croatia.

The 23-man squad announced on Friday is made up of three goalkeepers, eight defenders, eight midfielders and four strikers.

As part of the squad is Everton’s Gylfi Sigurdsson who is one of the most popular player but makes the team despite being injured.

Sigurdsson is a key member of the Iceland squad but has been out injured after he damaged knee ligaments in March with his Premier League club Everton announcing he could be out for about eight weeks.

He has won 55 caps and scored 18 goals for his country

Iceland confronts Nigeria on June 22 in Volgograd after their first game against Argentina on June 16.

Meanwhile Nigeria’ Super Eagles Coach Gernot Rohr is expected to release a provisional list of 35-man squad next week before the 23-man list is sent to FIFA before the June 4 deadline.

Iceland’s final 23-man World Cup squad:
Hannes Halldorsson (Randers), Runar Runarsson (Nordsjaelland), Frederik Schram (Roskilde); Kari Arnason (Aberdeen), Holmar Eyjolfsson (Levski Sofia), Rurik Gislason (Sandhausen), Sverrir Ingason (Rostov), Hordur Magnusson (Bristol City), Birkir Saevarsson (Valur), Ragnar Sigurdsson (Rostov), Ari Skulason (Lokeren); Birkir Bjarnason (Aston Villa), Samuel Fridjonsson (Valerenga), Johann Gudmundsson (Burnley), Aron Gunnarsson (Cardiff City), Emil Hallfredsson (Udinese), Gylfi Sigurdsson (Everton), Olafur Skulason (Karabukspor), Arnor Traustason (Malmo); Jon Bodvarsson (Reading), Alfred Finnbogason (Augsburg), Albert Gudmundsson (PSV), Bjorn Sigurdarson (Rostov).

Reserve list: Andri Bjarnason (Helsingborgs), Elmar Bjarnason (Elazigspor), Kjartan Finnbogason (Horbens), Jon Fjoluson (Norrkoping), Hjortur Hermannsson (Brondby), Ingvar Jonsson (Sandefjord), Vidar Kjartansson (Maccabi Tel Aviv), Ogmundur Kristinsson (Excelsior), Elias Omarsson (Gothenburg), Kolbeinn Sigthorsson (Nantes), Runar Sigurjonsson (St Gallen, on loan from Grasshoppers), Arnor Smarason (Hammarby).