BP appoints Susan Dio as chairman and president

Tobi Boshoro

British oil giant, BP has appointed Susan Dio as its new chairman and president.

BP said in a statement that Susan Dio succeeds John Mingé who will chair the National Petroleum Council study into carbon capture utilization and storage (CCUS).

BP today announced that Susan Dio has been appointed chairman and president of BP America Inc., BP’s chief representative in the United States, from 1 May 2018.

Dio succeeds John Mingé, who will move to chair a study by the National Petroleum Council (NPC) into CCUS technologies and their potential deployment. He will retire from BP in March 2019.

Bob Dudley, BP group chief executive said: “Susan’s breadth of operational and commercial experience gained with BP around the world – including leading our global shipping business, running a major refinery, and managing a chemical plant – make her ideally-suited for the key role of representing BP in the US. The US is a vital part of BP – we have invested more than $100 billion here since 2005. All our businesses, from exploration to refining to renewable energies, operate at scale in the US and together they make up the largest portfolio of businesses we have anywhere in the world.”