Financial and Fiscal Commission appoints Daniel Plaatjies as chairperson

Kathy Warden

South Africa’s financial and fiscal commission(FFC) has appointed Professor Daniel Plaatjies as Chairperson and Dr Sibongile Muthwa as Deputy chairperson.

Prof Plaatjies has served in various senior positions in the national and provincial governments. He is currently a part- time commissioner of the FFC since September  2013.

He has also served as a Deputy Director-General of Strategy and Business Development at the South African Social Security Agency and is a former Director: Public Finances at the National Treasury.

Prof Plaatjies is also a former Head and Director of the Wits School of Governance and is currently a visiting Professor at the University of Free State, School of Business Administration.

Dr Muthwa is the Deputy Vice-Chancellor: Institutional Support at the Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University. She served as Director-General of the Eastern Cape Provincial Government and in various positions at local   institutions of higher learning. She has been a part-time Commissioner of the FFC since July 2014.

Their institutional memory and expertise, as well as their experience as serving members of the FFC, will add enormous value to the Commission.

The Commission’s primary objective is to make recommendations to Parliament, the provincial legislatures, local government and other organs of state on financial and fiscal matters as envisaged in the Constitution and other national legislation.

The chairperson serves full time while the deputy chairperson position is part-time.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.