Germany beats Chile, dominate Confederations Cup individual awards

Confederations Cup

Germany beat Chile 1-0 to claim the 2017 Confederations Cup held in Russia ahead of the forth-coming FIFA World Cup. The eight-team tournament ran from 17 June 2017 through 2 July 2017 ended on a good note for the Germans who joined five other teams to have lifted the trophy.

They prevailed after the most intriguing of finals, which pitted Russia 2017’s youngest side against its oldest; the tournament’s deadliest attack against its meanest defence.

Despite winning the trophy, the German machines also dominated the list of individual award winners. See list below

1. Julian Draxler
Award: Adidas golden ball (best player award)
Country: Germany

2. Alexis Sanchez
Award: Silver ball (second best player)
Country: Chile

3. Leon Goretzka
Award: Bronze ball (third best player)
Country: Germany

4. Timo Werner
Award: Golden boot (top goal scorer)
Country: Germany

5. Lars Stindl and Leon Goretzka
Award: Silver boot ( 2nd highest goal scorers)
Country: Germany

6. Claudio Bravo
Award: Golden gloves (best goalkeeper)
Country: Chile

7. Fair play award
Country: Germany

Meanwhile, Portugal claimed the third place position coming from a goal down to beat Mexico thanks to Pepe’s stoppage-time leveller and Adrien Silva’s decisive 104th-minute penalty. It was a game full of drama and incident, including a red card for each side, with Nelson Semedo and Raul Jimenez making this the first game at a senior FIFA tournament to feature two dismissals in extra time.

Each of the last four third-place play-offs at the Confederations Cup has now gone to extra time and, remarkably, every one has ended with a European side celebrating.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.