Henry Onyekuru invited for Super Eagles Friendlies

Henry Onyekuru

Super Eagles coach, Gernot Rohr, has invited KAS Eupen forward, Henry Onyekuru, for the scheduled friendly matches against Corsica and Togo.

Onyekuru who was not included in the initial squad for the matches, now replaces Kayode Olanrewaju, who has opted out due to engagements.

The Eupen striker 19, has netted 22 goals this season making him the top goal banger in Belgium.

However, the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) named a revised squad list, while confirming that the Eagles will play two international friendly matches, against the Senior National Teams of Corsica and Togo respectively.

Nigeria will take on Corsica at the Stade Francois Coty in Ajaccio on 26 May. They will then travel to Paris for the game against the Hawks of Togo which has been scheduled for the Stade Municipal de Saint Leu La Foret, Paris on 1 June.

The goal-poacher had earlier told Pageone.ng in an exclusive interview that a call-up would delight him any day anytime. I will be very happy if I get invited because it’s a good thing to play for the national team of your country and I also would like to have a feel. Every Nigerian I believe looks forward to this.

Meanwhile reports have it that the Nigerian has been on the radar of clubs in the English Premier League namely Everton, Southampton and West Bromwich Albion.

See the full squad below:

Goalkeepers: Ikechukwu Ezenwa (FC Ifeanyi Ubah); Dele Alampasu (Cesarense FC, Portugal)

Defenders: Leon Balogun (FSV Mainz 05, Germany); William Troost-Ekong (KAA Gent, Belgium); Uche Agbo (CF Granada, Spain); Abdullahi Shehu (Anorthosis Famagusta, Cyprus); Tyronne Ebuehi (ADO Den Haag, The Netherlands); Elderson Echiejile (Sporting Gijon, Spain); Chidozie Awaziem (FC Porto, Portugal)

Midfielders: Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Oghenekaro Etebo (CD Feirense, Portugal); John Ogu (Hapoel Be’er Sheva, Israel); Mikel Agu (Vitoria Setubal, Portugal); Alhassan Ibrahim (Akwa United FC)

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Leicester City, England); Kelechi Iheanacho (Manchester City, England); Moses Simon (KAA Gent, Belgium); Stephen Odey (MFM FC); Henry Onyekuru (KAS Eupen, Belgium); Isaac Success (Watford FC, England); Noah Serenren-Bazee (Hannover 96, Germany); Victor Osimhen (Wolfsburg FC, Germany); Sikiru Olatubosun (MFM FC).


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *