Presidency nominates non-executive members for CBN Board


President Muhammadu Buhari has approved the names of non-executive members of Central Bank of Nigeria, CBN board.

In a statement issued by the Presidential spokesman, Mr. Femi Adesina, the names of the five candidates and their geopolitical zones were mentioned.

The names of the nominees and their geo-political zones were Professor Ummu Ahmed Jalingo for North East; Professor Justitia Odinakachukwu Nnabuko for South East; Professor Mike I. Obadan for South South; Dr. Abdu Abubakar for North West and Adeola Adetunji for South West.

According to the statement, the nominees names had been sent in a letter to the Senate President, Bukola Saraki for confirmation.

“In accordance with Sections 6 (1) (d) and 10 (1) and (2) of the Central Bank of Nigeria (Establishment) Act, 2007, President Muhammadu Buhari, Wednesday, forwarded the list of his nominees to the Senate for confirmation as Non-Executive Directors of the Board of the Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN)”, the statement added