South Africans can now trade Bitcoins on Bitstamp

Patricia de Lille

South Africans who wants to use Bitstamp, a popular Bitcoin exchange to buy and sell the cryptocurrency with the debit cards can now do so.

Earlier today, Bitstamp announced that customers from South Africa and other countries can now use their Visa and MasterCard debit and credit card purchases for bitcoin on the exchange.

Other countries included in the bracket are:

Switzerland, Norway, Monaco, Montenegro, Serbia, Turkey, Andorra, Moldova, Gibraltar, Iceland, Greenland, Liechtenstein, Isle of Man, Faroe Islands, Åland Islands, San Marino, Hong Kong, China, Singapore, Taiwan, South Korea, Australia, New Zealand, Japan, Argentina, Brazil, Israel, South Africa, Chile, Kuwait, Cayman Islands, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, India, Lebanon, Puerto Rico, Peru, Madagascar, Mozambique, Dominican Republic, Curaçao, Dominica, Jordan, the Bahamas, Bahrain, French Polynesia, Ecuador, Trinidad and Tobago, Barbados, Réunion, Jamaica, Paraguay, Brunei, New Caledonia, Guadeloupe, Martinique and Sint Maarten.

Bitstamp does not service West African countries such as Nigeria, Ghana, Senegal and many other sub-saharan countries. Remitano, a peer to peer Bitcoin exchange is a new exchange that is targeting Nigeria and many other African countries.

Founded in 2011, Luxembourg-based Bitstamp is a leading global digital asset exchange and the largest Bitcoin exchange in the EU in volume terms. Currently offering trading pairs of USD and EUR with BTC, the exchange is set to include XRP in January 2017, and this is to be followed by other trading pairs and products in the coming months